Teaching

All my educational events are an invitation to learn and grow with me. Together, we discover concepts and theories in scientific literature and reflect on what they mean – ideally with the help of a case study or concrete example.

I feel it is my responsibility to get students excited about what they’re learning, show them pathways for achieving their educational goals, and to support and inspire them along the way. They can always rely on me to provide feedback. Similarly, I trust the students to be open to new things, to apply themselves and to be interested in expanding their knowledge. So far, I have not been disappointed.

Taking sustainability science off campus

The course I developed and delivered at the Leuphana University of Lüneburg in the Minor Sustainability Science illustrates my ideal conception of teaching. It consists of regular project seminars dedicated to the challenges of sustainable consumption and runs for two semesters as part of the sustainability science minor. The students come from a variety of faculties – such as political science, cultural studies and business management – and quickly form interdisciplinary teams. After learning the relevant scientific methodologies, theories and models, it’s time to leave the campus. Together, they head into the field to test their project ideas and apply their newly acquired knowledge. This field work also involves each team collaborating with local partner organizations.

So, for instance, in Lüneburg this led to new ideas for a coffee house culture on the university campus. We also teamed up with allotment gardens to investigate whether and how people change their consumption behavior when they are actively involved in gardening. And we researched alternative living concepts in collaboration with a Tiny House initiative. The students really liked the course’s applied format and I had a lot of fun teaching it.

Lehre

Jede meiner Lehrveranstaltungen ist ein Angebot an die Studierenden, mit mir zu lernen und zu wachsen. Wir entdecken Konzepte und Theorien in der wissenschaftlichen Fachliteratur und reflektieren gemeinsam ihre Bedeutung, idealerweise am konkreten Beispiel oder in einem Praxisprojekt.

Meine Rolle sehe ich darin, Studierende für Themen zu begeistern, ihnen Wege zu ihren Lernzielen zu weisen und sie auf dem gemeinsamen Weg zu inspirieren. Auf mein Feedback ist Verlass. Ebenso verlasse ich mich darauf, dass die Studierenden sich offen für Neues zu zeigen, sich einbringen und ihr Wissen erweitern wollen. Bisher wurde ich nicht enttäuscht.

Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften ganz praktisch

Meine Lehrveranstaltung im Minor Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften, die ich an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg gehalten habe, veranschaulicht meine Idealvorstellung von Lehre. Das Projektseminar widmete sich über zwei Semester Herausforderungen des nachhaltigen Konsums. Die Studierenden aus diversen Disziplinen – u.a. Politik-, Kultur- und Betriebswissenschaftler*Innen – bildeten schnell interdisziplinäre Teams und verließen gerüstet mit wissenschaftlichen Werkzeugen wie Methoden, Theorien und Modellen den Campus, um ihre Projektideen und ihr neues theoretisches Wissen in der Praxis anzuwenden und zu testen. Hierzu kooperierte jedes Team mit lokalen Partnerorganisationen.

So kam es in Lüneburg zu neuen Ideen für eine Kaffeehaus-Kultur auf dem Uni-Campus. Weiter untersuchten wir in Kooperation mit Schrebergärten, ob und wie Menschen ihr Konsumverhalten ändern, wenn sie aktiv gärtnern. Im Austausch mit einer Tiny House Initiative erforschten wir alternative Wohnkonzepte. Bei den Studierenden kam das angewandte Format der Lehrveranstaltung super an und mir hat es ebenso großen Spaß gemacht.