Organization and transformation

Understanding behavior during change

I’ve always been fascinated by the question of how people bring about change, either as individuals or as part of a group. I found some initial answers to this question during my studies. Business psychology, management and marketing offer theories and concepts that explain how consumer behavior and organizations change, as well as the roles played by personal attitudes, shared values and, particularly, good communication. Later on, while training to become a business coach, I learnt how to professionally assist people going through processes of change.

For me, it all starts with communication

Sustainability transformations are processes that affect society as a whole and our everyday lives, which is why they require our active participation. The way in which initiators of sustainable developments communicate their ideas is therefore hugely important – regardless of whether they are individuals or organizations. Messages can appear inviting or exclusionary and can represent or marginalize certain values, identities or perspectives. Another challenge is that the term ‘sustainability’ doesn’t always imply the same thing across all levels of society. Personal attitudes and routines (micro level) don’t automatically align with organizational logics (meso level) or cultural frameworks and norms (macro level). Appropriate communication formats can help to mediate conflicts between these levels and promote the development of shared visions.

Transdisciplinary projects

My social-psychological expertise and knowledge of related methodologies enable me to shape sustainability projects in a contextualized and practical way. I advise and support municipal and regional administrative bodies, companies and citizens in relation to co-creation methods, change management and the communication of their sustainability goals. I participate in local transdisciplinary project teams and am part of the international Sustainability Transitions Research Networks.

Here are some specific examples of the way I conceptualize actors and change in transitions:

Organisation und Transformation

Verhalten im Wandel verstehen

Die Frage, wie Menschen persönlich und gemeinsam positiven Wandel bewirken, hat mich schon immer fasziniert. Erste Antworten fand ich im Studium. Wirtschaftspsychologie, Management und Marketing bieten Theorien und Konzepte, die erklären, wie sich Konsumverhalten oder Organisationen verändern und welche Rolle persönliche Einstellungen, geteilte Werte und insbesondere gute Kommunikation dabei spielen. In meiner Ausbildung zum Coach habe ich gelernt, Menschen in Prozessen des Wandels professionell zu begleiten.

Mit Kommunikation fängt für mich alles an

Nachhaltigkeitstransformationen sind gesamtgesellschaftliche Prozesse, die uns alle in unserem Alltag betreffen und deshalb unsere aktive Beteiligung erfordern. Wie Initiatoren von nachhaltigen Entwicklungen – seien es einzelne Personen oder Organisationen – ihre Vorstellungen kommunizieren, ist deshalb entscheidend. Botschaften können einladend oder ausschließend wirken und Werte, Identitäten oder Sichtweisen sichtbar repräsentieren oder marginalisieren. Eine weitere Herausforderung ist, dass ‚Nachhaltigkeit‘ auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen nicht dasselbe impliziert. Persönliche Einstellungen und Routinen (Mikroebene) harmonieren nicht automatisch mit organisationalen Logiken (Mesoebene) oder kulturellen Rahmungen und Normen (Makroebene). Auch hier können passende Kommunikationsformate helfen, Konflikte zu vermitteln und die Entwicklung gemeinsamer Visionen zu befördern.

Transdisziplinäre Projektarbeit

Meine sozial-psychologischen Expertise und Methodenkompetenz nutze ich, um Nachhaltigkeitsprojekte praxisnah und kontextbezogen mitzugestalten. Ich berate und unterstütze Stadt- und Regionalverwaltungen, Unternehmen, Bürgerinnen und Bürger mit Methoden der Co-Creation, beim Organisationswandel und der Vermittlung ihrer Nachhaltigkeitsvisionen. So bin ich Teil von lokalen transdisziplinären Projektteams und Teil eines internationalen, interdisziplinären Sustainability Transitions Research Networks.

Wer weiterlesen möchte, findet hier konkretere Beschreibungen meiner Perspektive auf Akteure der Transformationen: